• Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada to sign historic agreement with U of M
Jun 20, 2013

Nation Talk

In that time the Commission has gathered statements, documents and other materials, which the University of Manitoba will now preserve and make accessible to Survivors and their families, scholars and the general public.

The historic Signing Ceremony will be attended by Premier Greg Selinger [BSW/73], MP Rod Bruinooge [BA/02], TRC Commissioners Justice Murray Sinclair [LLB/79, LLD/02], Chief Wilton Littlechild and Marie Wilson, Residential School Survivors Phil Fontaine [BA/81, LLD/10] and Elder Florence Paynter [MEd/91], Inuk Elder and Survivor Levinia Brown, Survivor John Morrisseau, Elder Gary Robson, University of Manitoba President and Vice-Chancellor David Barnard, and many other community members. The emcee will be actor/producer and former MP Tina Keeper.

What: Signing Ceremony for the agreement to host the National Research Centre on Residential Schools

When: Friday, June 21, 2013

  • Event begins at 10:30 a.m. with a prayer, the lighting of Qulliq (traditional Inuit oil lamp), and an honour song dedicated to residential school children who did not return home
  • Signing of the agreement will begin at approximately 11:20
  • At 11:30 the TRC will transfer a blanket to the U of M
  • Survivors to speak from 11:35-11:55 a.m.
  • At 11:55, Edmund Partridge Community School’s Grade 8 Choir sings
  • Event concludes with a prayer at 12:15 and participants will then be made available to media

Where: Atrium of EITC (Engineering and Information Technology Complex – 75 Chancellors Circle), Fort Garry Campus

Live webcast info: The Signing Ceremony is also being live streamed via web cast. Please visit umanitoba.ca or trc.ca at 10:30 a.m. CST to access the Signing Ceremony web cast link.

For more information contact Sean Moore, Marketing Communications Office, University of Manitoba, 204-474-7963 or 204-880-8035 (sean_moore@umanitoba.ca).