• Cases of active tuberculosis in Nunavik
Aug 16, 2013

Kuujjuaq, August 14, 2013 – The Department of Public Health (DPH) of the Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services (NRBHSS) would like to follow up the tuberculosis situation in the region for the population.

Since the beginning of 2013, 32 cases of active tuberculosis have been reported in Nunavik. Although that number is lower than the number of cases reported on the same date last year, it nevertheless indicates that tuberculosis remains present in the communities of Nunavik.

As mentioned in its last communiqué, the DPH of the NRBHSS as well as the Ungava Tulattavik and Inuulitsivik Health Centres are continuing their efforts to ensure rapid, appropriate diagnosis for cases of active tuberculosis as well as follow-up for individuals who have been in contact with those cases.

All affected individuals are undergoing treatment and more than 100 persons have begun preventive treatment for latent tuberculosis infection. The DPH emphasizes the importance of adhering to prescribed treatment and required medical follow-up, such as, for example, taking all prescribed medications, undergoing chest X-rays and providing saliva specimens when requested. “The public’s collaboration and the efforts invested contribute to resolving the situation,” reiterated Dr. Françoise Bouchard, Acting Director of Public Health of Nunavik.

The current situation does not require the communities to cancel any social or sports events, which represent an important contribution to the population’s health and well-being, according to the NRBHSS Department of Public Health.

All Nunavimmiut are encouraged to consult at their CLSC in case of the presence of suspicious symptoms such as a cough that lasts more than three weeks, fatigue, night sweats and weight loss.

The NRBHSS is a public agency created in 1978 under the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement. It is responsible for nearly the entire Québec territory located north of the 55th parallel in terms of the provision of health and social services for the inhabitants of the 14 communities.