Board of Directors

Created in 1994, the FNQLHSSC is administered by a Board of Directors made up of seven members who are elected by the General Assembly of the FNQLHSSC. The Board of Directors possesses all of the powers that it is entrusted with by the General Assembly as well as all of the associated duties.  

These powers and duties must be ratified by the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec-Labrador (AFNQL). The Board of Directors is accountable to the Chiefs of the AFNQL as well as the General Assembly.   

Eligibility criteria

In order to be eligible to sit on the Board of Directors of the FNQLHSSC, a candidate must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years of age and capable of contracting;
  • Be a First Nations member;
  • Be knowledgeable and experienced with respect to the issues surrounding the health and social services of the First Nations;
  • Be a director or technician in the areas of health and social services for a First Nations community that is a member of the Commission;
  • Be thorough and have a good reputation within his/her community;
  • Be knowledgeable with respect to the laws and regulations as well as the customs that could be encountered.  

Current members of the Board of Directors 

President:                                                      Derek Montour, Kahnawake

Vice-President of Health:                              David McLaren, Kebaowek

Vice-President of Social Services:                Amanda Larocque, Gesgapegiag

Secretary-Treasurer:                                     Betty Carré, Essipit

Other Board members:                                 Donna V. Metallic, Listuguj

                                                                      Jean Vollant, Odanak

                                                                      Karine Régis, Uashat mak Mani-Utenam